Photography, Cakes and Everything That's Great

  • Contact Me

  • My Cakes

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

  • The Past

  • Recent Posts

I Heart Faces – Constructive Photo Feedback

Posted by djw209 on December 18, 2009

Here is a picture I took recently of family friends – it is their twin daughter’s first Christmas!

I am still getting accustomed to my Canon 50D (previously I was using a Canon 300D). I’m looking for some constructive feedback for this image, but also tips on photographing kids. As I don’t have any kids of my own, I don’t always have little ones running around to take pictures of. But I can usually get down to see these kiddo’s (the twins are 8 months and their older brother is 6) and take as many pics of them as my heart desires!

I used my speedlite since the lighting in the room was a bit off.

This is the original image:

I currently use Picasa to edit my images – mainly cropping and changing the images to B&W or sepia. Someday (hopefully soon!) I’ll own Lighroom or Photoshop Elements! Here is the edited image:

I cropped the image, sharpened it and made the colors a bit warmer so their faces aren’t quite as pasty white because of the lovely speedlite!

EXIF data of the original image:

Make: Canon
Model: Canon EOS 50D
MakerNote Size: 7512
MakerNote Offset: 826
Color Space: sRGB
Pixel Columns: 4752
Pixel Rows: 3168
Component Configuration: 1230
YCbCr Positioning: Co-sited
User Comment Size: 264
Date Time: 2009:12:06 12:06:38
Subsec Time: 04
Date Time Original: 2009:12:06 12:06:38
Subsec Time Original: 04
Date Time Digitized: 2009:12:06 12:06:38
Subsec Time Digitized: 04
Exposure Time: 1/60.00
Shutter Speed: 1/64.00
Aperture: f/4.00
Exposure Bias: 0.00
Metering Mode: Pattern
Flash Fired: Yes
Flash Mode: Fill
Flash Return: No strobe return detection function
Flash Function: Flash present
Flash Red-eye: No red-eye function
Focal Length (mm): 24.00
F Number: 4.00
Exposure Program: Program Normal
ISO Speed: 200
Focal Plane X Resolution: 5315.44
Focal Plane Y Resolution: 5306.53
Focal Plane Units: Inch
Orientation: Upper Left (1)
X Resolution: 72.00
Y Resolution: 72.00
Resolution Units: Inch
Custom Rendered: Normal process
Exposure Mode: Auto
White Balance: Auto
Scene Capture Type: Standard
InteropIndex: R98
InteropVersion: 0100
GPS Version: 2200

Thanks for taking the time to look at my image – I can’t wait to learn more about how to make this image better and then use it in future photo shoots!

2 Responses to “I Heart Faces – Constructive Photo Feedback”

  1. What a sweet young family. I think you did a nice job on this one. Photographing little ones is certainly a challenge.

    There are a few things you can try next time while you are shooting which will help later on with post production. First of all with children, I like to shoot closer to 1/125 shutter speed. Children move around so much, this just helps from having any lack of sharpness due to motion. Next, with a flash and a larger group of people, you might want to close down your aperture and shoot a bit closer to f8 or so. This will help as well for sharpness out of the camera, and especially with a larger group. By doing these, you might need to play around with your flash power.

    Also, try setting your white balance to flash, it might be less work in the end. I know this is tough with children but you have this composition setup very nicely on the left but then on the right it looks disconnected with the others. Just look for that type of stuff when you are out there shooting. I like your cropping that you have done.

    Play around with that stuff and see what you come up with.

    Thanks for playing along this week.

  2. What a cute family! Here are a few things I would have done differently for a photo like this one:

    1)When I take family photos, I usually try to take them outdoors…even if it’s cold outside and even if we have to run in and out to get enough shots. 🙂

    2)If that was absolutely not possible, I would have tried to find a way to completely cover the background. The dark background above the white sheet is very distracting to me.

    3)I would have had the family either sitting on the ground (and done more of a candid, silly shot there) or standing up. Standing up would be my first preference – that way mom and dad could each be holding a child and then the children wouldn’t be covering the parents’ faces. I think it’s easier to pose people in a more natural way when they are standing as well. If not, a sitting on the floor type of pose (where the white sheet went from the wall and continued down to cover the floor) would have fit this type of a fun, silly moment better.

    4) Dad’s head seems to be too far back – almost like he isn’t part of the photo. In this pose I would have had mom, older son and dad put their heads in closer together and then would have tried (good luck, right?) to get the twins to be on the parents laps and with their heads down farther so they aren’t covering up the parents faces.

    I’ll bet your friends were super happy to get this shot from you though!

    I hope these tips help out some,

    ~Angie
    co-founder of I ♥ Faces

Leave a Reply

 
