Photography, Cakes and Everything That's Great

  • Contact Me

  • My Cakes

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

  • The Past

  • Recent Posts

Tempt My Tummy Tuesday – Johnny Cake

Posted by djw209 on August 4, 2009

Blessed with Grace

Johnny Cake was something that I wasn’t familar with until I met my husband’s family. Grammy likes to make it for every single gathering we have. It’s a sweet bread that I would ejoy mainly with soups and stews…but my husband’s family eats it all the time!

Johnny Cake

INGREDIENTS

1 cup molasses
1 cup sour milk
1t baking soda
1 cup flour
Dash of salt
1 egg beaten
1 cup corn meal
1T oil
1/4 cup sugar

DIRECTIONS

Set oven to 400 degrees, mix all ingredients together and pour into a 9×13 baking dish. Bake for 20 minutes.

**Note – at the bottom of this photo copied hand written recipe it says:

real good with beans.

From Barbara Plant Freeman.

the Best ever

2 Responses to “Tempt My Tummy Tuesday – Johnny Cake”

  1. I love recipes that have a history. Thanks for sharing it with us. Also, glad you joined us for TMTT, this week.

  2. pam said

    That does sound yummy! May try that next time a make soup!

Leave a Reply

 
