Photography, Cakes and Everything That's Great

  • Contact Me

  • My Cakes

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

  • The Past

  • Recent Posts

What I’ve been up to

Posted by djw209 on July 24, 2009

So I’ve neglected my blog ever since I switched over to wordpress. Well, it’s been longer than that so I thought I’d let you know what I’ve been up to.

At work I’ve been writing stuff like this:

help

And photographing stuff like this:

1883O_PCGS_MS63_MORGAN_O

But what’s really interesting is what I’ve been doing outside of work:

I also celebrated my 28th birthday on July 14 – I took the day off from work and then I spent from 2pm – 11pm at a local NASCAR track to support my husband and his driver at a race where he placed 4th!!

Tomorrow we’re heading up to Groveton, NH (about a 3 hour drive north) for another race. But tomorrow afternoon I get to decorate cupcakes with a friend’s 4 year old daughter. I’m going to bring my camera to try out a few new photograph techniques to see if I can use them in a wedding I’m photographing on August 1.

I’ve been going to a lot of races this year now that I know most of the wives and girlfriends AND we just have a blast sitting in the stands. I’m the official videographer (when our driver doesn’t forget his video camera), so that makes the time go much quicker than it did when I had nothing to do.

I’ve also been invited to 2 baby showers, one in PA on August 8 and another in Oregon on August 15. Needless to say I can’t go to either of them which breaks my hears – photographing weddings both weekends and August 8th is my husband’s birthday!

Upcoming:

  • I actually get to attend 2 weddings in 2 consecutive weekends as a guest, not a photographer (one at the end of August and first weekend of September).
  • We’re going to a Red Sox game at Fenway on August 28 . My first MLB game EVER!!! Did you know that my maternal grandfather used to be a scout for the Baltimore Orioles?
  • I’ve been asked to make and decorate a cake for a friend’s parent’s 30th wedding anniversary. It’s a surprise party, so all I’ll say is that it needs to feed at least 50 people, incorporate the color green and the rest is up to me!
  • I’ll probably make 2 cakes for my church’s bake sale that’s held every year in October during Harvest Fest. Last year I created these 2 cakes and they were sold even before I could put them down on the table for about $40 each!!!!
    Harvest Fest Cake 2008 Harvest Fest Cake #2

This post has been entirely too long, but I have a lot on my mind.

Oh and just as a side note – our condo is on the market! We can’t build our house until the condo is sold, BUT I don’t think we’re going to build a house anyway…and ark is more appropriate as it’s been raining in New England since about May. But if someone is interested in a 2 bed, 1 bath condo in Rochester, NH here’s our listing!

One Response to “What I’ve been up to”

  1. pam said

    For some reasong the photos posted within the text on your blog aren’t showing, but I did look click through your thumbnail shots from the weddings – beautifully done! Good luck on your house sale – where will you move to when you sell?

Leave a Reply

 
